Locations

Fontenelle Forest
Nature Center

1111 Bellevue Blvd. North
Bellevue, NE 68005

From I-80, take Hwy 75 (Kennedy Freeway) south to Chandler Road. Turn left onto Chandler. Stay on Chandler approx. 1 mile until the road ends at the stop sign at Bellevue Blvd. Turn right onto Bellevue Blvd. Continue approximately .5 of a mile to the nature center (on the left).

View Map

Camp
Brewster

1313 Bellevue Blvd. North
Bellevue, NE 68005

From I-80, take Hwy 75 (Kennedy Freeway) South to Chandler Road. Turn left onto Chandler. Stay on Chandler approx. 1 mile until the road ends at the stop sign at Bellevue Blvd. Turn right onto Bellevue Blvd. Continue approximately .3 of a mile to Camp Brewster (on the left)

View Map

Camp Logan
Fontenelle

720 Camp Gifford Road
Bellevue, NE 68005

From I-80, take Hwy 75 (Kennedy Freeway) South to Chandler Road. Turn left onto Chandler. Stay on Chandler approx. 1 mile until the road ends at the stop sign at Bellevue Blvd. Turn right onto Bellevue Blvd. Continue for a little over .5 of a mile and turn left onto Childs Road. Continue on Childs Road through the housing development. The road becomes Camp Gifford Road and will change into a gravel surface. After the first curve, Camp Logan Fontenelle will be on your left.

View Map

 

Hitchcock Wetlands
Learning Center

103 Camp Gifford Road
Bellevue, NE 68005

From I-80, take Hwy 75 (Kennedy Freeway) South to Chandler Road. Turn left onto Chandler. Stay on Chandler approx. 1 mile until the road ends at the stop sign at Bellevue Blvd. Turn right onto Bellevue Blvd. Continue for a little over .5 of a mile and turn left onto Childs Road. Continue on Childs Road through the housing development. The road becomes Camp Gifford Road and will change into a gravel surface. Continue 1.5 miles on the gravel surface. The Wetlands Learning Center will be on your right.

View Map

Neale
Woods

14323 Edith Marie Ave.
Omaha, NE 68112

From I-80 take Hwy 75 North. Merge onto Storz Expressway towards Florence Blvd/Eppley Airfield. Take the Florence Blvd ramp and turn left at the stop sign. Florence Blvd. becomes J. Pershing Drive. Continue through the T intersection at Mormon Bridge onto River Road. From there, you will travel 2.7 miles to White Deer Lane (past NP Dodge and Hummel Park, stay to the right at the fork in the road). Turn a slight left onto White Deer Lane and left again onto Edith Marie Ave.

View Map

Camp Wakonda

Boy Scout Camp

(Parking Area for History and Southern Uplands Trails)

402 Forest Dr.
Bellevue, NE 68005

From I-80, take Hwy 75 (Kennedy Freeway) South to Chandler Road. Turn left onto Chandler. Stay on Chandler for a little over half of a mile. Turn right onto Fort Crook Road. Stay on Fort Crook Road for approx. 1 mile. Turn slightly left onto Galvin Road. Continue on Galvin Road for roughly .5 of a mile. Turn left onto Gregg Road. Stay on Gregg Road for a little over .5 of a mile. Turn right onto Bellevue Blvd. Continue for a little over .5 of a mile and turn left onto Forest Drive. Camp Wakonda will be on your left.

View Map

General Contact

Media

For all media inquiries

mmullen@fontenelleforest.org

Donate to Fontenelle Forest:

For questions about making a donation

donations@fontenelleforest.org

Careers

For current open positions

See our current Openings

Memberships

To learn more about membership and to join or renew online.

Get a Membership

Programs

For information about our classes, events, and programs, please see the Calendar of Events.

Calendar

Volunteer

To become a volunteer or to learn more about Fontenelle Forest’s volunteer opportunities

Volunteer

Our team at the Forest

Directors

Merica Whitehall
Executive Director
mwhitehall@fontenelleforest.org
Dawn Jensen
Director of Finance & Administration
djensen@fontenelleforest.org
Sally Otis
Interim Director of Education
sotis@fontenelleforest.org
Denise Lewis
Director of Raptor Recovery
dlewis@fontenelleforest.org
Dennis Merkel
Properties Superintendent
DMerkel@fontenelleforest.org

 

Staff

Debra Beck
Naturalist
DBeck@fontenelleforest.org
Jim Beebe
Chief Ranger at Fontenelle Forest
JBeebe@fontenelleforest.org
Dan Borgaila
Facilities Supervisor
DBorgaila@fontenelleforest.org
Madison Brandon
Animal Care Technician
mbrandon@fontenelleforest.org
Whitney Drahota
Naturalist
WDrahota@fontenelleforest.org
Betsy Finch
Manager of Raptor Rehabilitation
BFinch@fontenelleforest.org
Kathy Fischer
Naturalist
kfischer@fontenelleforest.org
Michelle Foss
Manager for Stewardship & Research
mfoss@fontenelleforest.org
Grace Gaard
Naturalist
ggaard@fontenelleforest.org
Suzanne Hasiak
Raptor Care Specialist
shasiak@fontenelleforest.org
Christina Joel
Development Associate
cjoel@fontenelleforest.org
Michaela Johnson
Naturalist
mjohnson@fontenelleforest.org
Anne Kotlik
Finance Associate
akotlik@fontenelleforest.org
Chelsey Kremin
Visitor Services Assistant 2
ckremin@fontenelleforest.org
Katie Leware
Education Assistant
kleware@fontenelleforest.org
Brooke Manes
Assistant Manager of Raptor Rehabilitation
bmanes@fontenelleforest.org
Matt Miller
Restoration Biologist
mmiller@fontenelleforest.org
Molly Mullen
Manager of Marketing and Events
mmullen@fontenelleforest.org
Reece Myers
Chief Ranger of Neale Woods
rmyers@fontenelleforest.org
Bettia Turner
Assistant Director of Development
bturner@fontenelleforest.org
Barb Shiffermiller
Visitor Services Specialist
bshiffermiller@fontenelleforest.org
Kenneth White
Animal Care Specialist
kwhite@fontenelleforest.org
Marykate Wray
Animal Care Technician
mwray@fontenelleforest.org

PART-TIME EDUCATORS

Regina Jeanpierre-Bryant Amy Campagna Julianne Carbonell
Amanda Dague Dianne Guinn Tisha Johnson
Allison Montgomery Jean Neneman Amber Pearson
Nick Sauvageau Jessie Sevener Trish Wakefield
Deborah Woracek

VISITOR SERVICES ASSISTANTS

Hannah Brandon Miriam Holder Patrick Conner
Heidi Seals Chelsy Kremin

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

OFFICERS

Angela Athy | President Susan Haddix | President-Elect Jon Hansen | Past-President
Kelly Mann | Treasurer Scott Marble | Secretary

DIRECTORS

Dan Bolt
Alexis Boulos
Tom Bragg
Catherine Demes Maydew
Jenny Doyle
Matt Ferguson
Ryan Gibson
Jo Giles
Wendy Goldberg
Mace Hack
Matt Hardebeck
Andrew Huettner
Portia Kennel
Nickie Konen
Chris Morrow
Shannon Mullen O’Keefe
Don Preister
Jim Ristow
Todd Rivers
Ray Turkle
Fred Uhe

HONORARY TRUSTEES

Mogens Bay
Susan and George Haddix
Gerry and Bruce Lauritzen
Marilyn Mammel
Ann Pape
Walter Scott, Jr.

Honorary Stewards

Shawn Bengtson Charles Gifford
Jeffry Green
Neal S. Ratzlaff

Contact

Fontenelle Forest is a 501(c)(3) tax exempt nonprofit.

Make a tax deductible donation NOW